UFO is heading for Warrington

ufo webWednesday 26 October, 7.30pm
Parr Hall, tickets £22.50
Buy tickets online

Parr Hall is delighted to announce legendary rockers UFO will be landing at the venue in October.

The tour, which calls at Warrington on October 26, will showcase A Conspiracy of Stars, the band’s 22nd studio album, as well as some old favourites.

This is the first time in more than 20 years the British band have recorded an album in their native country and it exudes that typically British easy-going confidence for which the band has been known for more than 45 years.

A Conspiracy of Stars is described as a “strong release” consisting of 11 songs which combine everything the group stands for: meaty riffs, distinctive hooks, diverse song-writing and intelligent lyrics.

And the fact that the album was produced and mixed by Chris Tsangarides, of Judas Priest, Thin Lizzy and Gary Moore fame, adds to the success of the recording and sees UFO prove that past and present can be blended.

UFO’s success story began in London way back in 1969, when vocalist Phil Mogg, drummer Andy Parker, guitarist Mick Bolton and bassist Pete Way formed the group.

Even in the seventies, the band distinguished themselves with their own, unmistakable style, touching a nerve among their following with rock numbers like Prince Kajuku, Follow You Home and C’mon Everybody from their albums UFO 1, Flying and UFO Live.

The global breakthrough arrived when German guitarist Michael Schenker joined the fold in 1973, having left his band Scorpions to follow an offer by Phil Mogg and Pete Way.

UFO released three consecutive rock classics with Schenker – Phenomenon (1974), Force It (1975) and No Heavy Pettin’ (1976) – featuring classics like Doctor Doctor, Shoot, Shoot, and Rock Bottom.

And following the arrival of keyboarder/rhythm guitarist Paul Raymond, UFO released Lights Out (1977) and Obsession (1978), which included the hit singles Too Hot to Handle, Lights Out and Only You Can Rock Me.

Their live cut Strangers In The Night came out in 1979 and is described by the press to this day as one of the best live releases of all time, while also signalling the end of the Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker and Raymond line-up.

The band now consists of original members Phil Mogg, vocals, and Paul Raymond on keyboards and guitar, classic-era drummer Andy Parker, lead guitarist Vinnie Moore, a permanent member since 2003, and American bassist Rob De Luca who joined in 2012.

Comments are closed.